Minnesota Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers

As difficult as they are, sex crimes do happen rather frequently in the State of Minnesota.  Although it may seem like all is lost when charged with such on offense, often times it is a “he-said/she-said” situation that needs to be fully investigated.  Because of the seriousness of these types of offenses, and the societal abhorrence in such criminal behavior, the State of Minnesota has various levels/degrees of criminal sexual conduct on the books:

  1. First Degree:  This offense is a felony.  This usually applies if there is penetration and  victim is under the age of 13, the offender uses a weapon during the course of the rape, or causes bodily harm to the victim during the rape. The maximum punishment is 30 years in prison and a $40,000 fine;
  2. Second Degree:  This offense is a felony.  This usually applies if there is no penetration and the victim is under the age of 13, the offender uses a weapon during the course of the rape, or causes bodily harm to the victim during the rape. The maximum punishment is 25 years in prison and a $35,000 fine;
  3. Third Degree: This offense is a felony.  This usually applies if there is penetration and the offender uses force, knows the victim is physically helpless, or the victim is between 13-18 years of age and certain requirements are met such as age of the offender and/or relationship to the victim.
  4. Fourth Degree: This offense is a felony.  This usually applies if there is penetration and the offender uses force, knows the victim is physically helpless, or the victim is between 13-18 years of age and certain requirements are met such as age of the offender and/or relationship to the victim
  5. Fifth Degree:  This offense is a gross misdemeanor (a felony if there is a prior conviction of a sex crime).  A person can be charged with this offense for engaging in nonconsensual sexual contact, or masturbation/exhibition in front of a minor.

Prostitution:

The State of Minnesota criminalizes solicitation or payment for sex or sexual services.  There are various levels/degrees of prostitution related crimes in Minnesota, as well as various collateral consequences of a conviction.  An experienced defense lawyer can help you navigate the process and properly defend your reputation and liberty.

In addition, the penalties for engaging in prostitution, or solicitation thereof, with an individual under the age of 18 are greatly enhanced.  Under certain circumstances, a conviction may result in a maximum punishment of 25 years in prison and a $60,000 fine.

If you happen to be a pimp in the State of Minnesota, you could potentially face a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a $40,000 fine.

Most offenses are Misdemeanors or Gross Misdemeanors, meaning that the maximum punishment ranges from 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine, to 1 year in jail and a $3,000 fine.

Under any circumstance, if you are arrested for engaging in prostitution or solicitation thereof in a motor vehicle, the law enforcement agency may seize and attempt to forfeit that vehicle.  You have the right to fight this forfeiture, just as you have the right to fight the underlying charges that gave rise to the forfeiture.

The attorney’s at Heefner Nelson Law have over 30 years combined experience dealing with the complexities of Minnesota’s prostitution laws.  Contact us with any questions you may have, or for a free initial consultation

The attorney’s at Heefner Nelson Law have over 30 years combined experience dealing with the complexities of Minnesota’s sex crime laws.  Contact us with any questions you may have, or for a free initial consultation